Reading Instruction

Enhance your skills in teaching reading across the curriculum!

This reading instruction coursework will prepare teachers to support individual students, classroom teachers, and the general reading program in the school. This program includes two practicums: one where the participant works with an individual student and one focused on the reading program in the school.

This programs leads to MSDE certification as a reading specialist. 

Participants may opt to take a four course sequence to obtain Reading Teacher Endorsement.

Program Options Available for:

  • Master of Education degree (36-39 credits) or
  • Professional Development Certificate (24 credits)

Required courses include (9 credits):

  • ED 625 - Strategies and Resources in Teaching Reading
  • ED 626 - Diagnosis of Reading Difficulties
  • ED 637 - Practicum Part I, Reading Diagnosis and Instruction

The reading instruction specialization is an MSDE-approved program for Reading Specialist certification as long as students take 13.5 additional credits and follow these guidelines:

  • Students take ED 639 - Psychological and Linguistic Foundations of Reading in lieu of one of the following core courses: ED 602, 603, or 604. The director will decide which course to replace based on the student's prior coursework.
  • Students take ED 672 - Assessing Needs and Evaluating Progress for the elective course.
  • Students take ED 636 - Overview of Intervention Strategies in lieu of ED 651 or 652.
  • Students take ED 638 - Special Project Seminar in Reading Interventions (may be substituted with ED 647) in lieu of two clinical electives.
  • Students take ED 635 - Practicum Part II, Role of the Reading Specialist/Literacy Coach for 3 credits.

In addition, the action research project will focus on a component of reading.

Admissions Requirement

Prior to beginning this specialization, students need to have taken courses in processes and acquisition of reading and materials for teaching reading.

Certification Requirement

Certification as a Reading Specialist requires MSDE teacher certification and completion of the required 3-credit introduction or survey special education course.

Specialization Standards

Standard 1: Foundational Knowledge

Candidates demonstrate knowledge of the theoretical, historical, and evidence-based foundations of literacy and language and the ways in which they interrelate and the role of literacy professionals in schools.

Standard 2: Curriculum and Instruction

Candidates use foundational knowledge to critique and implement literacy curricula to meet the needs of all learners and to design, implement, and evaluate evidence-based literacy instruction for all learners.

Standard 3: Assessment and Evaluation

Candidates understand, select, and use valid, reliable, fair and appropriate assessment tools to screen, diagnose, and measure student literacy achievement; inform instruction and evaluate interventions; participate in professional learning and experiences; explain assessment results and advocate for appropriate literacy practices to relevant stakeholders.

Standard 4: Diversity and Equity

Candidates demonstrate knowledge of research, relevant theories, pedagogies, essential concepts of diversity and equity; demonstrate and provide opportunities for understanding all forms of diversity as central to students’ identities; create classrooms and schools that are inclusive and affirming; advocate for equity at school, district, and community levels.

Standard 5: Learners and the Literacy Environment

Candidates meet the developmental needs of all learners and collaborate with school personnel to use a variety of print and digital materials to engage and motivate all learners; integrate digital technologies in appropriate, safe, and effective ways; foster a positive climate that supports a literacy-rich learning environment.

Standard 6: Professional Learning and Leadership

Candidates recognize the importance of, participate in, and facilitate ongoing professional learning as part of career-long leadership roles and responsibilities.

Standard 7: Practicum/Clinical Experiences (for specialized literacy professionals only)

Candidates apply theory and best practice in multiple supervised practicum/clinical experiences