AAGC Slate

We are proud to present this slate of alumnae/i who, with a vote of approval by a two-thirds majority of AAGC members at the Annual Meeting, have agreed to serve in AAGC officer, director, or committee positions starting on July 1, 2021. All alumnae/i are invited to attend this year's virtual AAGC Annual Meeting on April 24 at 3:30 p.m. ET to vote on the slate as well as to approve and ratify key constitutional amendments.

The Annual Meeting will take place during Alumnae/i Weekend 2021. Click here to learn more.




Damon Highsmith ‘03
Washington, DC│ Goucher Major: Business Management

Vice President

Kimberlee Van Newkirk Shaffir ’83, P’15
Annapolis, MD │ Goucher Major: Communication


Alicia Ladson Copeland ‘01
Elkridge, MD │ Goucher Major: Spanish

Alumni Giving Liaison/Officer

Gretchen Gilliland ‘03
Denver, CO │ Goucher Major: Psychology

Admissions Liaison/Officer

Nadiera Young ’12, MED ’14
Baltimore, MD │ Goucher Major: English


ALUMNA/US TRUSTEE (3-year term)

Deanna Galer ’17
Philadelphia, PA │ Goucher Major: Sociology


BOARD MEMBERS  (3-year terms)

Caroline Mandala Bauerle ’89
Cockeysville, MD │ Goucher Major: Communication

Jeanne Derderian ’83
Norcross, GA │ Goucher Major: International Relations

Joey Fink ’15
Minneapolis, MN │ Goucher Major: Economics

Jennifer Reynolds Hervy ’96 
Towson, MD │ Goucher Major: Communication



Royal Banks ’20
Baltimore, MD │Goucher Major: History

Karen Cohen Bloom ’91
Oakland, CA │Goucher Major: Mathematics

Gloria Kantor ’04
Atlanta, GA │Goucher Major: Business Management

Ridwan Lawal ’20
Richmond Heights, OH │Goucher Major: Economics

Laura Zelley Van Riper ’89, P’22
Alpharetta, GA │Goucher Major: History


Per the AAGC Constitution:

If a member of the AAGC not appearing on the slate wishes to stand as a candidate for one of the open positions, they must, at least ten days before the annual meeting, submit to the Secretary or the Executive Director a petition, signed by twenty other members of the AAGC, identifying the particular candidate whom he or she wishes to oppose.