Vehicle Registration Policy
Goucher College grants the privilege to drive on campus to students, faculty, and staff. The privilege assumes that community members will abide by Maryland state transportation laws.
All motor vehicles operated on campus by staff, faculty, and students must be registered with the Office of Campus Safety. Registered vehicles must display a current sticker inside of the left side window. Motorcycles must display a current sticker on the rear fender.
Vehicles may be registered at the Office of Campus Safety in Heubeck Hall at any time. A current Goucher College ID, driver's license, and state motor vehicle registration card must be presented to register a vehicle.
Vehicle registration permits parking on campus and entry to campus during hours of gate operation, and enables campus safety officers to contact owners in the event of problems, such as lights left on or damage to the vehicle.
Community members who are using an alternate vehicle for a short period on campus (e.g., registered vehicle is disabled) must obtain a temporary parking permit from the Office of Campus Safety. A state motor vehicle registration card must be presented to receive a temporary permit. If a community member does not have a vehicle registered with Office of Campus Safety, he or she will be allowed to have three (3) temporary permits per semester at no charge. A $10.00 fee will be charged for any additional permits issued within the same semester. Each temporary permit is restricted to a maximum period of seven (7) days.
Staff, faculty, and students who show Goucher identification when entering campus at night, in lieu of having a properly registered campus vehicle permit, will be required to give vehicle information to the gate house officer and will be asked to register their vehicles. Failure to register the vehicle may result in a citation or banning of the vehicle.
Goucher College will not be responsible for any damages occurring to vehicles. Complaints of vandalism, accidents, and thefts should be reported to the Office of Campus Safety.
Employees must register their vehicles during the first two weeks of employment. Any vehicle purchased during the year must be registered on the first day that it is driven on campus.
Maryland's Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration) requires all out-of-state students to obtain a nonresident vehicle permit. The permit fee is $20 and is nonrefundable. Information regarding nonresident permits is available on the Maryland MVA website. http://www.mva.maryland.gov/About-MVA/INFO/27300/27300-60T.htm.
Student vehicles must be registered by the end of the first week of classes. Students who matriculate in the spring semester must register their vehicles by the first day of spring semester classes. There is a fee of $75 per year or $50 per semester for student vehicle registration. Any vehicle purchased during the year must be registered on the first day that it is driven on campus. Students who have already registered a vehicle may obtain a new registration decal for a $10.00 fee if the decal from their original vehicle is returned.
Commuting students must comply with the same vehicle registration policy as resident students.
Accommodations for Community Members with Disabilities
Vehicles used by community members with disabilities must be registered according to the procedures described above. In addition, upon proof of medical need or upon submitting a copy of a valid state disability permit for the community member using the vehicle, a Goucher disability permit will be issued. When a state disability placard or plate has been issued for the community member, a Goucher disability permit will not be needed. A person may not use a car with a disability permit unless he or she is disabled.