Vehicle Registration Policy
College Vehicle Registration
Goucher College grants the privilege to drive on campus to students, faculty, and staff. The privilege assumes people will abide by Maryland state transportation laws.
- Maryland’s Department of Transportation (Motor Vehicle Administration) requires all out-of-state students to obtain a nonresident (vehicle) permit. The permit fee is $20 and is nonrefundable. A brochure containing more information regarding nonresident permits is available from the Office of Public Safety.
- All motor vehicles operated on campus by staff, faculty, and students must be registered with the Office of Public Safety. Registered vehicles must display a current sticker inside the left side window. Motorcycles must display a current sticker on the rear fender.
- Staff, faculty, and students who show Goucher identification when entering campus at night, in lieu of having a properly registered campus vehicle permit, will be required to give vehicle information to the Gate House officer and will be asked to register their vehicles. Failure to register the vehicle with campus Public Safety may result in a citation or banning of the vehicle.
- Vehicles may be registered at the Office of Public Safety in Heubeck Hall at any time. A current Goucher College ID, driver’s license, and state motor vehicle registration card must be presented to register a vehicle.
- Student vehicles must be registered by the end of the first week of classes. Students who matriculate in the spring semester must register their vehicles by the first day of spring semester classes. There is a fee of $50 per year or $35 per semester for student vehicle registration.
- Commuting students must comply with the same vehicle registration policy as resident students.
- Employees must register their vehicles during the first two weeks of employment.
- Any vehicle purchased during the year must be registered on the first day that it is driven on campus. Students who have already registered a vehicle may obtain a new registration decal for a $5 fee if the decal from their original vehicle is returned.
- Community members using an alternate vehicle for a short period on campus (e.g., registered vehicle is disabled) must obtain a temporary parking permit from the Public Safety Office. A state motor vehicle registration card must be presented to receive a temporary permit. If a community member does not have a vehicle registered with the Office of Public Safety, he or she will be allowed to have three temporary permits per semester at no charge. There will be a $5 fee charged for any additional permits issued within the same semester. Each temporary permit is restricted to a maximum period of seven days.
- Vehicle registration permits parking on campus and entry to campus during hours of gate operation, as well as enabling security to contact owners in the event of problems, such as lights left on or damage to vehicle.
- A copy of the campus parking/traffic regulations will be issued whenever a vehicle is registered.
- Goucher College will not be responsible for any damage to vehicles. Complaints of vandalism, accidents, and thefts should be reported to the Office of Public Safety.
- Goucher understands the need to make reasonable accommodations for people with disabilities. Vehicles used by community members with disabilities must be registered the same as all other community members’ vehicles. In addition, upon proof of medical need or upon submitting a copy of a valid state permit for the community member using the vehicle, a Goucher handicap permit will be issued. When a state handicap permit has been issued for the community member, a Goucher handicap permit will not be needed. Any person who uses a car with a handicap permit, but is not handicapped, is not entitled to use handicap spaces.
- Parking is allowed only in spaces designated by white or yellow parallel lines or white curb marks.
- No parking is allowed for other than authorized vehicles in service drives, fire lanes, traffic lanes, handicapped spaces, reserved spaces, on lawns, and along the roadways.
- Resident first-year student parking is restricted to the North Lot, which is located near the Psychology/Music Annex. Fire lanes are indicated by painted yellow curbs.
- Vehicles parked in other than designated areas are subject to being cited, booted, and/or towed, depending on the situation, at the owner’s risk and expense, to Pollard’s Towing Service.
- Mopeds and motorcycles may be parked only in designated parking spaces. See item 1.
- Mopeds and motorcycles may not be stored anywhere in buildings. (Mopeds and motorcycles found in buildings will be removed and stored at the owner’s risk and expense at Pollard’s Towing service.)
- Community members are financially responsible for citations received for their registered vehicles, no matter who drives the vehicle.
- Community members are responsible for advising their guests of Goucher’s parking and traffic regulations.
- Guest parking is restricted to the Dorsey Center lot only.
- Community members are financially responsible for citations issued to guests’ vehicles.
- Any vehicle that is habitually parked illegally will be subject to being barred from campus.
- The campus speed limit is 24 miles per hour or less depending on traffic, road, and weather conditions.
- Vehicles must be driven on the right side of the road. No passing is allowed.
- All traffic and parking signs are to be obeyed.
- Report all traffic accidents immediately to the Office of Public Safety at 410-337-6112 or 410-337-6111.
Traffic Violations and Citation Fines
No parking decal ................................................$25
Expired decal ......................................................$25
Improper display of a decal ............................$10
Tampering with a decal ....................................$50
Failure to obey officer’s directions ................$50
Failure to obey traffic control device, i.e. one-way sign, stop sign ................................$50
Unauthorized parking on lawns or walkways...................................................................$25
Blocking/parking at a driveway, walkway, or door ..............................................................$25
Parking in roadway (also subject to automatic towing, without warning) ............................$50
Parking in a no-parking area or any grass area not specifically designated for parking....$25
Parking in an area reserved for others..........$25
Parking in a fire lane ..........................................$25
Violation 15-minute space time limit ..........$25
Unsafe operation (riding, hanging, or pulling someone on outside of vehicle, etc.) ........$50
Falsely registering a vehicle for another or registering two vehicles under false pretense (This includes faculty/staff members who register vehicles used by their children, who are Goucher students.) ......................$50
Operating a motor vehicle contrary to law (not legally registered/safe or insured) ............$50
Abandoned vehicle (cost of removal and storage, plus fine) ..........................................$50
Parking by non-handicapped people in a space, including the strip zone, reserved for people with disabilities (also subject to automatic towing without warning) (Documentation of disability for individual using space may be required)........$75
Using a decal that was issued to another person or one that was reported lost or stolen...$100
Reckless driving (speeding, DWI, swerving, driving on grass, etc.) ..................................$100
Parking Citation Appeals Process
The parking appeals process has two steps. The first step is to appeal the citation to the issuing officer. If your initial appeal is denied, you may file a second appeal to the Parking Citation Appeals Board.
A completed appeal form must be received in the Office of Public Safety within 14 calendar days from the date the citation was issued for consideration to be given to any appeal. Holidays and break times, excluding summer, do not count toward the 14 calendar-day period. Appeal forms are available at the Office of Public Safety.
The decision of the Appeals Board is binding on the Office of Public Safety and the appellant. Payment of a citation under appeal is suspended during the appeal process. However, whether citations are in appeal, the vehicle is still subject to towing or booting if the vehicle is found in violation. Unpaid citations will be billed directly to the student’s account, and late fees associated with unpaid account balances will be assessed. Appealed citations are not eligible for discount payment.
Definitions of Appeals Actions
Upheld means the citation has been upheld as valid under Goucher College parking regulations,
and payment is due.
Reduced means the board agrees there was a violation of Goucher College parking regulations, but that mitigating circumstances presented in your appeal warrant a reduced fine. Payment of the reduced fine is required.
Dismissed means the appeal was approved, and the fine was waived.
Loss of Parking Privilege means the person cited was found by the board during the appeal process to be a habitual violator of campus parking regulations and failed to park responsibly. The individual can no longer bring his/her vehicle onto campus for a set period of time as determined by the board but not exceeding two semesters.
Justification for Appeals
Parking citations are issued for violating established college parking regulations. An appeal should be based on the premise that the citation was not consistent with Goucher College parking regulations or that special extenuating circumstances exist that should excuse the appellant from compliance with these regulations. The following circumstances, on their own, are never excuses that result in reduction of a fine: “I was running late” or “I just ran in to do an errand.”
Filing an Appeal
You may file an appeal by mail or in person. In all cases, your written appeal must be received in the Office of Public Safety within 14 calendar days from the date the citation was issued for the appeal to be accepted for consideration.
Incomplete or illegible appeals will not be processed. Giving false information is a violation of the Campus Judicial Code and may affect your student status. Remember to keep a copy of your appeal and citation for your records. The following information must be included with the appeal, regardless of the method of submittal:
- The original citation
- Citation number if you’re filing by fax or e-mail
- Current address
- Telephone number
- E-mail address
- Vehicle license plate number
- Permit number
- Narrative explaining why the citation should be invalid
- Any supporting documentation
To File by Mail
Pick up an appeal form from the Office of Public Safety or have a form mailed to you. Mail the completed form to:
Parking Citation Appeals Board
c/o Office of Public Safety
1021 Dulaney Valley Road
Baltimore, MD 21204
Boot/Vehicle Immobilization Towing Policy
The Office of Public Safety uses vehicle immobilizers (also known as boots) as an additional parking enforcement tool. A vehicle boot is a device attached to the rear driver’s-side wheel, which immobilizes the vehicle until it is removed by authorities with a proper key. The boot program will not replace the towing program but will be used in conjunction with towing to best enforce campus parking policies in a timely and convenient manner.
Goucher College will continue to maintain a towing contract with Pollard’s Tow Company. Facilities Management Services, in compliance with Maryland and Baltimore County law, has posted Pollard’s towing signs on college property. Pollard’s is a licensed and bonded towing company located at 3 Ensor Ave., Towson, MD 21204. The contact number is 410-823-1808. All tows are conducted at the owner’s risk and expense.
Under the following circumstances, a vehicle will be subject to towing if it is:
- Parked in marked handicapped spaces without authorization.
- Blocking the roadway or blocking service or emergency vehicle ingress or egress.
- Creating a road hazard or damage to property or grounds.
- Deemed to be abandoned on college property.
- Designated by the college through disciplinary action or hearing process as banned from campus.
- Displaying expired state motor vehicle registration or operated contrary to law.
Vehicle boots will be used under the following circumstances:
- To immobilize vehicles that have been designated as habitual offenders. Habitual offender status is designated after a vehicle has received three citations in a single academic year (from September through August).
- Upon receipt of the fourth and each subsequent citation, whether citations are being appealed.
- To immobilize illegally parked unregistered vehicles to determine ownership.
Boot Notification Policy
When vehicles are registered with the Office of Public Safety, a contact phone number will be requested. When a vehicle is booted, this office will send an e-mail to the registrant’s Goucher account and/or leave a message on the registrant’s designated contact phone advising of the vehicle’s status. The registrant will have 48 hours in which to contact the Office of Public Safety for boot removal. After 48 hours, the vehicle will be subject to towing. Failure to provide appropriate contact information with your vehicle registration may result in your vehicle being towed.
Arrangements for boot removal may be madeby contacting the Office of Public Safety atx6112. Only public safety officers are authorizedto remove a boot from a vehicle. The regularremoval fee is $150. If a boot is removed byanyone other than a public safety officer or is tampered with in any way, the fee is $250. A replacement cost will be levied for a damaged boot. Payment will be accepted by a major credit card, check, OneCard, or cash.