Release date: February 21, 2013

Dale Allen Gyure, associate professor and thesis director, MAHP Program, has been appointed to the Michigan State Historic Preservation Review Board.

Hugh Miller, FAIA, professor and thesis director, MAHP Program, is to be honored for his lifetime achievements in historic preservation when he receives the 2013 George Wright Society Cultural Resources Achievement Award at the Society's annual conference in March.  The George Wright Society is an international, interdisciplinary professional association of researchers, managers and educators who work in or on behalf of parks, protected areas, and cultural sites.  In addition to being a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, Professor Miller is also Fellow of US/ICOMOS and Fellow of the Association for Preservation Technology International and an Honorary Member of the American Society of Landscape Architects.

Keith Park, (MAHP 2010) has recently become a Certified Arborist by the International Society of Arborists in addition to being a Historical Horticulturalist.  The National Park Service employs Keith as a preservation horticulturalist.  His thesis examined preserving historic fruit orchards in northern California.

Richard Wagner, AIA, professor and director, MAHP Program, was a general session speaker at the recent Colorado Preservation, Inc. annual conference.  His talk was on how preservation can find a seat at the sustainability table along with environmentalists, scientists and others taking the lead in this important area of America's future.

Barbara Gudell-Shaffer, (MAHP 2009) has been appointed to the Pennsylvania State Historic Preservation Review Board.  Barbara's thesis examined how to prioritize competing interests along historic roads and highways.